Kenneth Smith Email: Kenneth is Professor of Music Theory at the University of Liverpool where he has worked since 2011, holding previous posts at Keele and Durham (where he completed his PhD in 2009). He lectures on various aspects of music theory in popular and classical repertoires. His first book, Skryabin, Philosophy and the […]


The trustees of the Society for Music Analysis manage the affairs of the charitable incorporated organisation (CIO), and for that purpose may exercise all the powers of the CIO. Trustees take on different roles within the Society, including responsibility for areas including outreach, communications and events. Profiles of the individual trustees are given below. Genevieve Arkle […]

Student Representatives

SMA Student Representatives help the committee discover what sort of workshops, seminars and conferences are of interest to emerging scholars, and take a lead role in organising and developing our programme of student events. Profiles of the Student Representatives are given below. Email: Marta Riccardi Marta is currently a doctoral candidate in the Department of […]

Society Officers

The Society for Music Analysis appoints officers to look after the Society’s administration and finances, and to lead on matters of Equality and Diversity. The Society’s official documents, including its Equality and Diversity Mission statement, can be read here. Profiles of Society officers are given below. Equality and Diversity Officer: Anne Hyland Email: Anne Hyland […]